Past Presidents

Past Presidents of ISDRS

2019-2020: Professor Pauline Deutz

Pauline Deutz is Professor of Human Geography at the University of Hull, UK. Her work examines the coordination of environmental priorities, such as the Circular Economy, with social and economic agendas  (website). She has been member of the ISDRS Board from 2008 to 2022. In 2012 she hosted the 18th annual ISDRS Conference in Hull.  She was secretary from 2011-2012, Vice President from 2012-2018 and President from 2018-2020. During this time she has oversaw the delivery of the annual conference alongside supporting and further developing the structure of the organisation. She is the current Past President (2021-2022).

2012-2018: Professor Walter Vermeulen

Walter Vermeulen (1958) is professor at the Copernicus Institute of Sustainable Development, Utrecht University, Netherlands. His work focusses on governance of sustainable production and consumption (website). He has been member of the ISDRS Board from 2007 to 2020. In 2009 he hosted the 15th annual ISDRS Conference in Utrecht. From 2011 onwards as Vice-President and from 2012-2018 as President, he further developed the ISDRS into a member-based organization with working groups on the most relevant sustainability research related topics. In 2019-2020 Walter Vermeulen was Past-President.